Sign up for premium coverage of the Chiefs and NFL on bobgretz.com, click here.

-  -

Mini-Camp Preview/Friday Cup O’Chiefs

There are 85 players on the Chiefs roster right now.

But there are only two players in the spotlight as the Chiefs begin their mandatory mini-camp Friday morning at the Truman Sports Complex.

All the reports out of Chiefs camp will be about whether G Brian Waters and LB Mike Vrabel are in the house and attending the weekend of work after missing all of the team’s off-season work.

No word on Vrabel. But Waters was spotted in the Chiefs building Thursday evening, an indication there’s a good chance he’ll be in the meeting room and on the field come Friday morning.

If not – and at this point it would be foolish to state anything as guaranteed – Waters can be fined if he’s absent without being excused. Same for Vrabel.

Also expected to be missing is fourth-round draft choice CB Donald Washington, who under NFL rules is not allowed to participate in the off-season work until Ohio State finishes its spring term. That won’t happen until next week.

So at the minimum, there will be 82 guys on the field and some 75 or so will be taking part in the workouts, with two sessions on Friday, two practices on Saturday and then one Sunday morning.

Haley does not view these practices any differently than the six OTA sessions that have already gone down. It’s just a chance to get five practices in over three days.

“To me, it’s not any more important,” Haley said of the mini-camp. “As I said early on, the off-season to me is the most important thing that we have to get done here. We have to get in conditioning and we have to get strong in order to have any chance to compete. Because if we don’t do that, no matter what else we’re doing, we have no shot, or very little shot. So that’s number one.

“Each and every one of these OTAs is extremely important to me. I can’t see the importance going up any because it’s the mini-camp. We’ll just have two practices on Friday and two on Saturday. That’s the only difference to me.”

Because the Chiefs have had such good attendance at the OTA sessions, there will not be a big increase in available bodies. Certainly, Haley would like to see Waters working at left guard with the No. 1 offensive line and Vrabel working at outside linebacker with the No. 1 defense. Short of that, there should be nothing different about what goes down in these sessions.

Offensively, the Chiefs will continue to work on developing the timing in the passing game and the coordination of the offensive line. Defensively, they will continue the implementation of the new scheme, not only the 3-4, but in the nickel and dime defenses that they’ve worked on in the OTAs.

The kickers will continue to kick, punter Dustin Colquitt will continue to punt and the snappers will continue to snap.

There will really be very little different about the three days than what the Chiefs have already shown during this off-season. It’s just another important step in their development as a team.

“Everything we do together as a group involves some form of sweating or studying, I think that’s good,” Haley said. “It’s been night and day to me of where we started from to where we’re at and that’s really just part of the educational process to the players of letting them know what we want.

“As I said, there’s not going to be a lot of gray area, it’s going to be pretty black and white. If you’re doing it, you’ll be alright if you’re good enough and if you’re not doing it, then you probably won’t be around.”

And, it’s always helpful if all the bodies are there, all pulling and working in the same direction. If not, you know what the media theme will be Friday evening.

C.P. WILL PRESENT D.T. IN CANTON

Former Chiefs president-general manager Carl Peterson will present Derrick Thomas for his induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio on Saturday evening, August 8th at Fawcett Stadium.

Every Hall of Famer has a person who presents them for induction and the Thomas family asked Peterson to handle those duties. He will speak for about 10 minutes, there will be an NFL Films video shown of D.T. and his career and finally, Derrick’s son Derrion Thomas will come to the stage and acknowledge the Thomas family and accept the Hall of Fame bust from Peterson.

Last year for his induction, former Chiefs CB Emmitt Thomas had his son Derek present him. When Hank Stram went into the Hall, his quarterback Len Dawson made the presentation speech. Stram was the presenter for Dawson, Bobby Bell, Buck Buchanan and Jan Stenerud. Lamar Hunt presented Willie Lanier and Hunt himself was presented back in 1972 by then Patriots owner Billy Sullivan.

The Hall of Fame released on Thursday the list of presenters for the Hall of Fame class of 2009 and the real surprise involved Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson. As the franchise celebrates its 50th season there were many people Wilson could have called on, but he selected ESPN broadcaster Chris Berman to handle the duties.

“Chris embodies the Bills fans who have played such an important role in my career in professional football,” Wilson said in a statement released by the Bills. “Professional football is all about the fans and having Chris as my presenter follows that thought.”

Bob Hayes will be presented by Hall of Fame quarterback Roger Staubach.

Randall McDaniel will be presented by O.K. Fulton, his high school athlete director and assistant principal at Agua Fria Union High School in Avondale, Arizona.

Bruce Smith will be presented by Ted Cottrell, who was defensive coordinator during part of his time in Buffalo.

Rod Woodson will be presented by Tracy Foster, a long-time friend and business associate.

The Hall of Fame ceremonies will begin at 6 p.m. CDT on August 8.

A CHANCE TO SAY GOOD BYE TO CRASH

There will be a celebration of the life of former Chiefs head coach Frank Gansz on Friday at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland.

Gansz passed away on April 27th in Dallas after complications following knee replacement surgery. He spent the last two years working as the special teams coach for his good friend June Jones at SMU.

Born in Altoona, Pennsylvania and raised in Pittsburgh, Gansz attended the Naval Academy and played center and linebacker from 1957-1960.

He was the Chiefs special teams coach twice, 1981-82 and 1986. He was the team’s head coach in 1987-88.

Representing the Chiefs organization at the 10 a.m. ceremony at the Academy’s Alumni Hall will be Chairman Clark Hunt and team President Denny Thum.

SIGNINGS & MOVEMENT AROUND THE LEAGUE

CARDINALS – signed S Adrian Wilson to a new contract, 5 years, $37 million with $18.5 million guaranteed.

49ERS – signed OT Joe Staley to a six-year extension on his contract. He’s now signed through 2017.

JAGUARS – signed S Marlon McCree; released DT Nader Abdallah and S Kevin Patterson.

PATRIOTS – signed FB Patrick Pass; released RB Omar Cuff, DL Kenny Smith, LB Angelo Craig and S Marcus McClinton.

RAVENS – signed fifth-round draft choice TE Davon Drew.

SAY HAPPY BIRTHDAY …

Born on June 5, 1962 in Brookville, Pennsylvania was C Bob Olderman. He was selected by the Chiefs in the fourth-round of the 1985 NFL Draft out of Virginia. Olderman played that rookie season with the tea, appearing in 16 games and making 14 starts. That was his only career action in the NFL.


22 Responses to “Mini-Camp Preview/Friday Cup O’Chiefs”

  • June 5, 2009  - Harold C. says:

    Well…it sounds like Waters will finally show up. I hope Vrabel does too and we can get this nonsense behind us.


  • June 5, 2009  - azchieffn says:

    If Brian is a no show, it’s going to be another long season. Hard to wear the red and gold out here in AZ.I can’t believe I just said that! Cassell may be done in our 1st game if Lewis gets ahold of him…..Oh well, there’s always Thigpen! We need an O-line badly!


  • June 5, 2009  - Scott says:

    The more I have thought about the Brian Waters thing, and the way he has conducted himself…I hope he DOESN’T show. I hope he was “spotted” cleaning out his locker. The guy wants to be a baby? Blow off his responsibilites to a charity event? Not be here practicing with the team…even though it hasn’t been “mandatory”? Then get the hell outta’ here. We don’t need players with that type of attitude. It seems pretty clear that he got used to Herm’s way…where the players run the show. Well…it’s new era now, Jack.

    And if he does show up? I hope Haley runs his ass into the freakin’ ground.


  • June 5, 2009  - jimbo says:

    Scott,
    I’m surprised you held everything back. Ditto, well said…

    I do have to say this, We really, really, need Waters talent, just not Waters.

    One more thing. If Waters shows up for camp today & has a good attitude, makes a public apology, maybe with Todd Haley’s arm around him etc… Should we embrace him or should we continue to berate him & cast him aside.


  • June 5, 2009  - boomer says:

    Errors only need to be corrected!


  • June 5, 2009  - Carl Peterson says:

    I am very elated to have the opportunity to speak on behalf of the Thomas family for the late Derrick Thomas’ induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. My only fear is that I will be so nervous that I will get explosive diarrhea and let loose all over the stage. If you all could, please pray that I am able to contain my stools.

    Thank you, and God Bless America.


  • June 5, 2009  - Scott says:

    jimbo,

    If he made a public apology to First Downs for skipping out when they expected him to be there?

    Then I’d probably be good with it.

    He should also apolgize to his teammates for his childish behavior. But that should be done in private.


  • June 5, 2009  - Scott says:

    To whoever posted that nonsense as “Carl P”…

    That was easily the most classless post I’ve ever seen here. How dare you disrespect Derrick Thomas and his family like that. Go away.


  • June 5, 2009  - Carl Peterson says:

    Scott,

    If you’ve never had the misfortune of experiencing explosive diarrhea firsthand, you couldn’t possibly know how horrible it is. How dare you be so unsympathetic of a fellow human being! You sir, not I, should go away and take your blackened heart filled with hate with you.


  • June 5, 2009  - anonymous says:

    810 is reporting that Both Vrable and Waters are at camp and participating.


  • June 5, 2009  - Harold C. says:

    Bob….its far too easy for anyone to post as….anyone. It’s getting out of hand. We need a register and log-in system to keep down on the idiots.

    If Waters shows up and gives us his all now then I don’t need an apology….but enough time wasting already. Get in or get out….all the way. Same goes for Vrabel.


  • June 5, 2009  - Carl Peterson says:

    I agree with you, Harold. I’m tired of reading Scott’s tirades. Bob, institute a system that will make everyone accountable for what they write.


  • June 5, 2009  - alex k says:

    I find it funny that some claim haley has gone soft, face it, he did his”welcome to the NFL moment” for the rooks, now he is getting to work….hes still tough, just doesnt feel the need to yell constantly at a 30 year old, if the 30 year old cant get it done, the 30 year old will get cut, not yelled at. Especially with a roster of 84, as the only missing SHOULD be Donald Washington, who will make things interesting in practice covering the slot.


  • June 5, 2009  - alex k says:

    I really wish I had known of that Coach Gansz Celebration last week….

    hearing of it the day of makes it impossible to fly out.


  • June 5, 2009  - jimbo says:

    I’m with Harold C. This has been a good outlet for postings. Always informative and entertaining.
    It seems everywhere you go, TV, internet, radio, newspapers etc. there is always somebody spewing hatred, intentional bending of the truth or facts, off the wall so called humor, profane language, immature thoughts & behavior.
    Quite frankly, I am getting sick & tired of it.

    Bob, I thoroughly enjoy participating and reading your commentary and the numerous comments from true Chiefs fans. To lose the insight, intelligence, analysis and thought provoking opinions of you all would be a travesty. We will prevail.
    That being said… I will continue to participate and share my opinions throughout the 2009 season.
    Go Chiefs…


  • June 5, 2009  - Josh says:

    Hey all. Haven’t been on in a while…just thought I’d check in and see what was new. Looks like a lot of the same. :)

    610′s also confirmed that Vrabel and Waters are participating today.

    Anyone else interested to see how the transition some of our d-linement are making to LB pans out? I’m thinking Hali should be fine…not too sure about the others.

    Scott, Harold, Jimbo, whomever…let the morons post moronic things. Believe me, it takes far less effort to ignore them than it does to retaliate and post things in reply. Besides, most that post goofy crap only see a response to their work as encouragement to keep going. Look at the original anonymous/Rin…once everyone ignored him, he straightened up and became tolerable. These jokers are just looking for an audience, and I’m pretty sure they’ll find it unsatisfying to perform to an empty house.

    Just my two cents.

    In Pioli we Trust!


  • June 5, 2009  - Herman Edwards says:

    Well ya know…I think that this is going to be a special occasion. Um….ya know….Carl is an old guy…he’s had his share of bumps and bruises… And DT he’s a legend…so…ya know….I..I..I…think its going to be great.


  • June 5, 2009  - Carl Peterson says:

    I strongly support Coach Edwards in his quest to eat 300 fig newtons in one sitting. I believe he has the drive and determination to see this task through to completion.

    I also appreciate his kind words. I hope that when the day arrives and he is elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, that I can be there for that momentous occasion and introduce him, like I am the Late Derrick Thomas. I will hopefully be over my proneness to loose stools when I get nervous by that point in my life.


  • June 5, 2009  - B in SC says:

    I think way too much is made of the whole Waters issue. Ignore it and it goes away. The media keeps it alive. The only apology should be to the charity he stiffed, and only then if he just pulled a no-show. They should not be drug into the fray. If the media weren’t desperate for something to fill the sports page, this wouldn’t be a story. A veteran skipping ‘voluntary’ practice? Please. Let me know if he no-shows for training camp. Then it’s a story. C’mon $8,000 a day? Pocket change. If he wanted to make a statement, $24,000 isn’t much to him.

    Agree with Josh. Ignore the ridiculous posts and they will go away. Only done for attention. As a famous philospher once said “stupid is as stupid does”.


  • June 5, 2009  - Le Fawnduh says:

    Haha. Carl Peterson and George Brett should start a club.


  • June 5, 2009  - SG says:

    “If he made a public apology to First Downs for skipping out when they expected him to be there?”

    Transgression what it was is probably nothing that the lower of $150,000 or double-last-year’s donation check couldn’t fix…not to mention a lot of autographs for kids.

    Anonymous, I’m still waiting for that email you were going to send me and the selection of a real handle.


  • June 6, 2009  - Rin Tin Tin says:

    When Brian Waters appears, people notice. ‘Check’ obviously caved and apologized as he should have.

    You show em BW!

    heh heh heh

    :-)




Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.


Categories

AFC West Analysis 2014
Answer Bob
Chiefs 2014 Schedule
Chiefs Practice-Injury Reports 2014
Chiefs Roster Moves 2014
Game Coverage 2013
Game Coverage 2014
Minicamps-OTAs 2014
NFL Almanac 2014
NFL Combine 2014
NFL Draft 2014
NFL Free Agency 2014
Other News
Practice Reports 2014
Training Camp 2014

Archives


RSS


Pages

Home