Charles Does Win FedEx Ground Award

From Dallas, Texas

Chiefs RB Jamaal Charles was named the FedEx Ground Player of the year on Thursday, receiving the award during a press conference at the Super Bowl Media Center in downtown Dallas.

Charles received the award from former NFL quarterback-now broadcaster Phil Simms. In the fan voting he beat out Houston’s Arian Foster and Atlanta’s Michael Turner for the honor. Foster was also part of the ceremonies.

Chiefs fans know what kind of season Charles had in 2010, with 1,467 rushing yards and his 6.38-yard average per carry. Those totals made him the second running back in NFL history to achieve 1,400 rushing yards and at least 6.3 yards per carry.

“This just shows that hard work pays off,” Charles said. “Last year, we worked so hard and when you work that hard, it will pay off in the end.”

Charles is less than a week removed from his first appearance in the Pro Bowl, where he scored a touchdown and ran for 72 yards on 10 carries.

“I took my Mom and my Aunt and they were so excited to see Michael Vick and Ray Lewis,” Charles said. “It was more of a family event. Getting a chance to enjoy that with my family was a great experience.”

The 2010 season was a big one for Jamaal Charles, including his first chance to take part in the playoffs. It was success, but the season ended with great disappointment.

“It being my first time in the playoffs I was excited,” Charles said. “You don’t get a lot of shots to get to where Green Bay and the Steelers are. If we had won (vs. Baltimore) we were three games away from it and not making it hurt a lot. I know I cried. I wanted to go on.”

Charles got banged up in the game against the Ravens in the playoffs, but he said Wednesday that he’s doing fine now, and he’s ready to start working for the 2011 season. He had no ideas about who might be running the offense and calling the plays for the Chiefs offense.

“I just hope we stick to our philosophy of running the ball because it works,” Charles said.

Also honored on Wednesday with the FedEx Air Player of the Year Award was Packers QB Aaron Rodgers. Former Packers QB Bart Starr accepted the award for Rodgers.

Previous winnings of the FedEx Ground trophy were: Chris Johnson (2009), Adrian Peterson (2008), Fred Taylor (2007), LaDainian Tomlinson (2006), Shaun Alexander (2005), Curtis Martin (2004) and Ahman Green (2003).

2 Responses to “Charles Does Win FedEx Ground Award”

  • February 2, 2011  - MEDennis34 says:

    Props JC! You so deserve this accolade. Your comments above says it all; “…that hard work pays off.” Congrats!!

    P.S. Arian couldn’t have made that sick run against the Raven as you did. Have great off season.

  • February 3, 2011  - gorillafan says:

    JAMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL CHARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRLES. HA, I just like how the anouncer at the games always says his name after a big run

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.


Other News