Hall of Fame Finalists Includes Shields, Culp

On Saturday, February 2 in New Orleans the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors will meet to elect the Class of 2013.

The 17 names the voters will consider were announced Friday morning and includes a pair of former Chiefs – G Will Shields and DT Curley Culp. Shields makes his second visit to the final group; he was there last year as well in his first year of eligibility. Culp is one of two seniors nominees

In the voting meeting the two seniors candidates are voted on first (Culp and former Green Bay LB Dave Robinson.) Then by vote, the group of 15 is cut to 10 and then that group is cut to five. At that point, it’s either yes or no on each of the candidates. To gain induction they must receive a yes vote on 80 percent of the ballots. A maximum of seven and a minimum of five will become Hall of Famers.

Here are the 17 names in alphabetical order:

  • G/T Larry Allen – Dallas and San Francisco.
  • RB Jerome Bettis – Los Angeles Rams and Pittsburgh.
  • WR Tim Brown – Oakland and Tampa Bay.
  • WR Cris Carter – Philadelphia, Minnesota and Miami.
  • DT Curley Culp – CHIEFS, Houston and Detroit.
  • Owner Ed DeBartolo Jr. – San Francisco.
  • LB/DE Kevin Greene – Los Angeles Rams, Pittsburgh, Carolina, San Francisco.
  • DE/LB Charles Haley – San Francisco and Dallas.
  • Owner Art Modell – Cleveland and Baltimore.
  • OT Jonathan Ogden – Baltimore.
  • Coach Bill Parcells – New York Giants, New England, New York Jets, Dallas.
  • WR Andre Reed – Buffalo and Washington.
  • LB Dave Robinson – Green Bay and Washington.
  • DT Warren Sapp – Tampa Bay and Oakland.
  • G Will Shields – CHIEFS.
  • DE Michael Strahan – N.Y. Giants.
  • CB Aeneas Williams – Arizona and St. Louis Rams.

Comments are closed.

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.


Other News