Charles Earns All-Pro Distinction

The term All-Pro gets thrown around a lot by the fans and media when talking about the best players in the NFL. Pro Bowl players become All-Pros for some people, even though there’s no connection between the two designations.

The toughest distinction for an NFL player to get is to be named All-Pro – that means you are the best of the best in the NFL, all conferences, all divisions combined.

Chiefs RB Jamaal Charles earned that distinction on Monday when the Associated Press announced its All-Pro team for the 2010 season. Charles is part of the first-team, joining Houston’s Arian Foster in the two running back slots on the 12-man offense. The defense also has 12 slots on the first team.

With 50 voters selecting two backs each, Charles received 33 votes, while Foster had 45. The next closest running back was Atlanta’s Michael Turner with eight votes.

The last time the Chiefs had an All-Pro first-team member was in 2008 when TE Tony Gonzalez earned the distinction. The last time the Chiefs had a RB on the first team was 2006 when Larry Johnson was named All-Pro.

Plenty of Chiefs received mention in the voting:

  • WR Dwayne Bowe was on the second-team with eight votes.
  • LG Brian Waters was named on 12 ballots, while RG Ryan Lilja got three votes. C Casey Wiegmann picked up a single vote.
  • OLB Tamba Hali was fifth in voting at the position with seven votes. ILB Derrick Johnson received a vote, as did CB Brandon Flowers.

The only unanimous selection was New England QB Tom Brady with all 50 votes.  Here’s the first team AP All-Pro squad for 2010 and their vote total:


  • QUARTERBACK – Tom Brady, New England (50).
  • RUNNING BACKS – Arian Foster, Houston (45) and Jamaal Charles, Chiefs (33).
  • FULLBACK – Vonta Leach, Houston (17).
  • WIDE RECEIVERS – Roddy White, Atlanta (47) and Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis (18).
  • TIGHT END – Jason Witten, Dallas (36).
  • TACKLES – Joe Thomas, Cleveland (22) and Jake Long, Miami (21).
  • GUARDS – Jahri Evans, New Orleans (24) and Logan Mankins, New England (15).
  • CENTER – Nick Mangold, New York Jets (37).


  • DEFENSIVE ENDS – Julius Peppers, Chicago (36) and John Abraham, Atlanta (21).
  • DEFENSIVE TACKLES – Haloti Ngata, Baltimore (45) and Ndamukong Suh, Detroit (30).
  • OUTSIDE LINEBACKERS – Clay Matthews, Green Bay (39) and James Harrison, Pittsburgh (31).
  • INSIDE LINEBACKERS – Patrick Willis, San Francisco (28) and Jerod Mayo, New England (21).
  • CORNERBACKS – Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland (20) and Darrelle Revis, New York Jets (19).
  • SAFETIES – Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh (47) and Ed Reed, Baltimore (41).

Special Teams

  • PUNTER – Shane Lechler, Oakland (34).
  • KICKER – Billy Cundiff, Baltimore (24).
  • RETURNER – Devin Hester, Chicago (43).

Comments are closed.

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.


Other News