Adrian Peterson NFL MVP; Arians Coach of the Year

The top individual honors for the 2012 NFL season were announced Saturday evening in New Orleans. And, isn’t interesting that not one of the players or coaches on either team that will play in Sunday’s Super Bowl received a vote, let alone won an award.

The Baltimore Ravens and San Francisco 49ers were shutout, as were the Chiefs, although there was no surprise in that.

Going into the evening there was one hard to determine trophy – the NFL MVP. Would it go to Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson, the man of the 2,097 yards rushing season? Or was the winner going to be Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning and his remarkable performance after sitting out the previous season with a neck injury?

The winner was Peterson; he received 30.5 of the 50 votes cast by a panel of NFL media types arranged by the Associated Press. Manning was second with 19.5 votes.

Manning did win the NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award in a near unanimous vote over Peterson. But the Vikings back did pick up a second honor as he was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year with 36 votes. Manning was a distant second, picking up 8 votes while New England quarterback Tom Brady, Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers and Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson each received two votes.

Indianapolis’ interim head coach Bruce Arians was voted NFL Coach of the Year for his efforts filling in for the stricken Chuck Pagano. Arians was able to handle the Colts and helped them reach the playoffs just a year after they finished 1-15 in the 2011 season. Arians received 36.5 votes, with Pagano named 5.5 times. Seattle’s Pete Carroll got 5 votes and Minnesota’s Leslie Frazier picked up 3 votes.

Houston defensive end J.J. Watts was voted Defensive Player of the Year, receiving 49 of the 50 votes. Denver linebacker Von Miller received the other vote.

Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III was named Offensive Rookie of the Year and Carolina Panthers middle linebacker Luke Kuechly was Defensive Rookie of the Year. RG3 received 29 votes, well ahead of Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck (11) and Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson (10). Kuechly got 28 votes, with Seattle linebacker Bobby Wagner (11), Green Bay cornerback Casey Heyward (6), St. Louis CB Janoris Jenkins (3) and Tampa Bay linebacker Lavonte David (2) splitting up the remaining ballots.

Dallas tight end Jason Witten was named they Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year honor for his service on and off the field.

Comments are closed.

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.


Other News